A Dog’s Wish for Christmas Eve 2010

Originally posted September 5, 2007 but it’s always Christmas when there’s dog in the house…

Martha JaneThe years go so very fast and before you know it that romping pup is old and grey muzzled and they have sat by our sides while we read, watch TV, and work on our computers. Every so often they come and lay their heads in our laps, toss our elbow with their muzzle or gaze into our eyes and wait for us to notice them.  Take a moment now to commune.

I am your dog, and I have a little something I’d like to whisper in your ear. I know that you humans lead busy lives. Some have to work, some have children to raise. It always seems like you are running here and running there, often much too fast, often never noticing the truly grand things in life.

Look down at me now, while you sit there at your computer. See the way my dark brown eyes look at yours? They are slightly cloudy now. That comes with age. The gray hairs are beginning to ring my soft muzzle. You smile at me; I see love in your eyes. What do you see in mine? Do you see a spirit? A soul inside, who loves you as no other could in the world? A spirit that would forgive all trespasses of prior wrong doing for just a simple moment of your time? That is all I ask. To slow down, if even for a few minutes, to be with me.

So many times you have been saddened by the words you read on that screen, of others of my kind, passing. Sometimes we die young and oh so quickly, sometimes so suddenly it wrenches your heart out of your throat. Sometimes, we age so slowly before your eyes that you may not even seem to know until the very end, when we look at you with grizzled muzzles and cataract clouded eyes. Still the love is always there, even when we must take that long sleep, to run free in a distant land. I may not be here tomorrow; I may not be here next week. Someday you will shed the water from your eyes, that humans have when deep grief fills their souls, and you will be angry at yourself that you did not have just “one more day” with me. Because I love you so, your sorrow touches my spirit and grieves me.

We have NOW, together. So come, sit down here next to me on the floor, and look deep into my eyes. What do you see? If you look hard and deep enough we will talk, you and I, heart to heart. Come to me not as “alpha” or as “trainer” or even “Mom or Dad,” come to me as a living soul and stroke my fur and let us look deep into one another’s eyes and talk. I may tell you something about the fun of chasing a tennis ball, or I may tell you something profound about myself, or even life in general.

You decided to have me in your life because you wanted a soul to share such things with. Someone very different from you, and here I am. I am a dog, but I am alive. I feel emotion, I feel physical senses, and I can revel in the differences of our spirits and souls. I do not think of you as a “Dog on two feet” — I know what you are and who you are. You are human, in all your quirkiness, and I love you still.

Now, come sit with me, on the floor. Enter my world, and let time slow down if only for 15 minutes. Look deep into my eyes, and whisper into my ears. Speak with your heart, with your joy, and I will know your true self. We may not have tomorrow, but we do have today, and life is oh so very short. So please–come sit with me now and let us share these precious moments we have together.

Love, on behalf of canines everywhere.

Your Dog.

Author Unknown.

From WW’s Dad: This is why we’re here, staying up too late on the computer, sending out these digitized bits and bytes to each other, miles and continents apart. I ran across this while looking for content for Our Blue Dog, a website about the life, times and loss of our precious Martha Jane, the Queensland Blue Heeler. Tell you what, Pupsters, this one gets me every time…

This was originally retrieved from the Pet Guardian Angels of America™ website:  A Dog’s Wish

11 thoughts on “A Dog’s Wish for Christmas Eve 2010

  1. Thanks for sharing this. Mom’s crying again, way to go. 😉

    Seriously, thanks for stoppin’ by our blog! We love yours, your Dad has done a great job. You must have him really well trained. We’re gonna add you to our Pal list too.

    Talk soon!
    Thrawn, Tucker, Sam, Dot & Bear

  2. Our Mom read this recently too and has been giving us a lot more soul time during the day as she works from home.

    Nice to meet you. Stop by and visit two wire fox terriers from South Florida!!

    Jake and Just Harry

  3. That’s very sweet. Of course when I go sit down next to Pappy, half the time he wanders off into the next room for some peace. But that just makes it all the sweeter when he seeks me out and puts his head in my lap.

  4. A Dogs Wish” is perfect to hang on you refrigerator. A Dogs wish is perfect for all of us to remind ourselves how incredibly intelligent, sensitive, unconditional loving, and dignified our friends are. Look in there eyes:)

    Pass “A Dogs Wish” forward….

    “A Dogs Wish”

    Treat me kindly, my beloved friend for no heart in all the earth is more grateful for kindness than ours.

    Do not break my spirit with blows or words, though I will lick your hand between them, your patience & understanding teach me more than your anger.

    Speak to me often for your voice is the sweetest music, as you must know by my tails fierce wagging.

    Please keep me inside for I am no longer wild & I ask for no more than to sit with you. Though if you had no home, I would rather follow you through ice and snow than rest in the warmest home in the entire universe for you are my friend.

    All I ask is that you keep my dish filled, for although I should not reproach you were it empty, I cannot tell you when I suffer thirst or hunger. I only ask of this so that I may stay well to romp and play and walk by your side to stand ready, willing and able to protect you with my life should you or those you love be in danger.

    And dear friend, should the Great One see fit to deprive me of my health, sight or make me feel pain that I do not understand, do not turn me away, rather hold me gently in your arms as skilled hands grant me merciful release from this earth and eternal rest with our maker.

    I will miss you then and wait for you to join me.

    As I leave this body I will be comforted knowing, even with my last breath, I was ever safest in your warm arms.

    ~ Author Unknown ~

  5. Thanks to all for your comments. We ought to read this, and look at the video sent by Sherwin every day, and pass it on to everyone we know all the time. But don’t bug anybody… Aarroo! WW

  6. HI

    Aaron, Thank you for the acknowledgement..
    Passing “A Dogs Wish forward is rewarding for anyone to take on…lets make a shift in humanity…A Dogs Wish….

    Sherwin

Leave a Reply

